Sonic Pi in classrooms

Hi People, i am quite interested to listen from experienced teachers how are going their class on “Programming music”.
i am a 45 years old programmer and teacher in programming and media production, using open source and free apps (on Ubuntu and Win10). I love playing and composing music, from experimental to modern electronic music. i am very curious how you are teaching with Sonic Pi.

i have teached people (kids and adults) to python programming (music and graphic) as well as other code types (JS, C++ audio plugin…), i just feel that Sonic pi can be a very interesting tools to stay concentrate on sound.

Anyway, from a couple of hours, i have a very good time using it.

i may have a question, regarding the features opened to all, i have read somewhere that some users have access to complete list of features, is that correct ?
can we (teachers/trainers) have access to that complete release ? how to access it ?
(at this time, we are using 3.3.1)

Thanks for creating that community, after reading some post, it looks awesome :slight_smile:
bye, have a nice day to all
uriel

Hello Uriel! Welcome!

If you mean ‘are there features in normal releases of Sonic Pi that are limited to certain people with exclusive access’ (like Patreon supporter only features) - then as far as I know, (and someone else is free to correct me if I’ve forgotten something), we don’t currently have exclusive access features in Sonic Pi.

There may be extra features in beta versions (that also may be in an experimental and potentially unstable state) - and packaged beta apps are usually exclusively available to Patreon supporters. (Otherwise you still have the option of compiling your own build from the source code).

As for the list of features that may be in the latest betas, (as well as the other features introduced as Sonic Pi has grown) they are eventually listed on our changelog:

Does that help answer your questions? :slightly_smiling_face:

Yes thank you Ethan,