Hello from Basque Country

Hi, I’m Jon. From the Teacher trainer Faculty from the University of the Basque Country. I’m not a musician, I’m not a engineer, but I’m interested on how introduce computational thinking in the new teachers promotions though the music. I really think this is a great way to promote Science and Maths for girls & boys when they are learning at the school.

Thanks for this great forum.

1 Like

Hi @Jonbus,

welcome to Sonic Pi and this forum!

Yes, that’s definitely right. In my experience you can explore all kinds of subjects via Sonic Pi. As you said, Science and Math, but also Musicology, History of Music, Technology, Synthesizers, and - of course - aesthetics of music in general or specific genres (e. g. the ones that are relevant to younger people but you can also peek into older stuff and make it relevant again)… and so on…

Cheers
Martin

Hello Jon, welcome to this great community! :slight_smile:

Hi, @Martin

Yessssssssss definitively .

A little question of a newbie. Could be possible add new instruments like use_synth :piano ?
Students ask me for this feature and I couldn’t find a easy answer.

Thanks in advance

Hi @Jonbus,
Do you mean, can you add instruments that are beyond those already built in to Sonic Pi?

yes, this is the idea, Like violin, guitar, flute… Like in Scratch

Sure.
You can of course choose to play a variety of the built in synths, a process described in the Sonic Pi tutorial in the app in Section 2.3, and online at http://sonic-pi.net/tutorial#section-2-3.
However, It is absolutely possible to use new synths that do not come built in to Sonic Pi, assuming this is what you meant.
Under the hood, Sonic Pi uses synths built for the program called SuperCollider - so-called ‘SynthDefs’. (All of the existing synths in Sonic Pi are this type of file - you can see them in the Sonic Pi source code repository at https://github.com/samaaron/sonic-pi/tree/master/etc/synthdefs/compiled for example).