Sonic pi as a scripting language?

Hi all, I am very new to sonic-pi, its possible that I may have missed what I am looking for.
is there any provision in sonic-pi for scripting, or programing?
I would like to create some instruments using microcontrolers, that interact with a program to create music in sonic pi.

I understand that I could take the source-code and write in my own listener that then processes commands, but Im just wondering if there is already something in the sonic-pi program that allows for sending command-line arguments or listens for things like key presses on whatever port.

Is there any provision in sonic-pi for scripting, or programing?

Yes . Though many seem to use it otherwise ,
music can definately be programmed .
( See ’ language ’ in the ’ help ’ file and ’ samples ’ on the
web page )

I would like to create some instruments using microcontrolers,
that interact with a program to create music in sonic pi.

MUCH simpler to use the instruments built into SPi .

something in the sonic-pi program that allows for sending command-line arguments or listens for things like key presses on whatever port.

Try Python or Basic . Basic has built in keyboard functions , as does
the PyGame module of Python .
For microprocessors have You looked at MicroPython and / or
Circuit Python ? ( and the available boards )

That may be, but Sonic Pi is designed to be able to send and receive commands to/from external devices via MIDI or OSC - so if the homemade instrument is built to send and/or receive either of those, that’s perfectly fine too :man_shrugging:

1 Like

First off, welcome @maker0 :grinning_face_with_smiling_eyes: