New study/performance group?

Hello,

Anyone interested in getting together to learn and jam some noises to one another?
I’m just starting to build songs from beeps :slight_smile:

Hey - I’d be interested in trying! I’m not sure how exactly we’d “play” together, but I would definitely like to connect with some folks.

I don’t have a ton of knowledge of either music or coding, but I’ve been making decent progress.

Do you know either topic well? What kind of music do you play/want to play?

1 Like

I’m just getting started, right now i’m using the songs from “tetris effect” for inspiration, they are pretty squared and simple, but nice
like this:

Awesome sounds!

I’m open to hearing any ideas you have about how to make a study group. I have recently been toying with the idea of doing some “round robin” style stuff. Building a song between multiple people, part by part, and maybe taking turns modifying the composition back and forth.

Let me know if there’s a way for us to collab!

1 Like

That sounds great!
I was thinking there is already sharing and simulteneous editing in VSCode and JetBrains tooling, we could use that…

I’ve used datalore a bit and am not familiar with VS Code. Happy to learn new stuff! Take your pick, and I’ll start digging around the docs to familiarize myself.

Also took a look at the github repo - I’d be more than happy to show you a handful of things!

1 Like

Thanks, that would be really nice!
For the collective practice, one way to go would be creating an AWS workspace to run sonic pi and stream from there, meanwhile we can edit the code collectivelly using VSCode Live Share anytime and listen on a stream.
Also could set a regular “office hours” jam so people get a change to play together…