Looking for guidance to improve my code

Hey everyone!

I’ve been using Sonic Pi for the last couple of years and have currently been doing live coding gigs across Melbourne (Australia) at both experimental nights but also opening for bands (really fun). I completed my Bachelor of Science (Mathematics) a while ago and did one coding subject - foundations of computing (python), plus used Matlab for a few subjects, however this is the depth of my coding knowledge. Although its helped considerably i.e. my understanding of data structures, loops and conditional statements, I feel like I’ve plateaued in my ability to make more complex music with Sonic Pi beyond the in-built tutorial. It seems when I watch some Sonic Pi live coding streams, I can sometimes feel lost due to a lack of theoretical coding knowledge.

I would love some guidance on where I should keep learning (beyond practicing/making music which I am doing). Some things I have considered:

• Finding a Sonic Pi tutor to get me to the next level (very happy to do virtual lessons)
  • Doing a short course - is there one for Ruby anyone would recommend? Does all Ruby syntax work in Sonic Pi?
  • Potentially going back to university for Creative Coding (this is not yet common in Australia, so this is the most difficult option)

I really love using Sonic Pi, and my end goals are:

• to simplify my code so shorter lines do more. I currently have somewhat clunky, long lines of code and mostly change parameters, stop/start, randomise things live. Simplifying my code will help me greatly.
  • understanding how to implement classes
  • more confidently routing audio from Sonic Pi to other programs e.g. Hydra, ps5 - this is in the tutorial but I think I need more support
  • integrating Sonic Pi with multiple instruments - I currently use my mic for vocals and a midi keyboard
  • sending audio to up to 8 speakers at once (for sound installations/performances)
  • coding automation