Some background, and a request for input from those more experienced

I am a rubyist, so when I realized Sonic Pi was in ruby, I knew I’d found something I think I could spend lots of time in.

For years now, I’ve been interested in the “bedroom DJ” sort of setup - low cost controllerism, effectively. Partly because I know this is a hobby that I may fall in and out of and I don’t want to spend hundreds or buy crappy equipment. Also partly because trying to convince my wife pouring hundreds of dollars into my hobby when I can’t even string a few beats together yet is a non-starter :rofl:

Recently, I discovered Unfa on youtube (link). I’m a CTO of a municipal government by day, but my true love is all things Linux/open-source.

So - in short, I’m a career programmer, newb to music production, and I’m cheap. Unfa’s guides to getting Reaper, Jack, etc are a perfect excuse to use ALL THE SKILLS, and I’ve been having a blast learning everything I can. I also discovered Output.com’s Arcade VST, and managed to get that working in Reaper via LinVST.

All that said, at this point, I’m finding it hard to take some of the samples I am creating from Arcade, and working them into some sort of live performance setup (my true goal - I just want to be able to have an itch and jam out one night, with a possible recording if I ever feel so confident). I’ve looked up several free native samplers using Midi control, but they’re all yet-another-layer-to-learn.

I know what I want in my head. And working through the tutorials on Sonic Pi and watching @samaaron here (I keep this on loop lately) , I also can generally see how I’d code it.