Introduction and my Sonic Pi goals

Hello, my name is Matt, I’m relatively new to music making. Over the last two years I have been playing with various hardware and software synthesizers, learning through YouTube videos. Unfortunately I got into a bad habit of buying new toys to avoid putting in the hard work of practice. As a New Year’s resolution I’ve decided to concentrate on one tool and see if I can build up some skill.

So, Sonic Pi. I found that what I liked the most in hardware synthesis is modular - routing, knob twiddling, sequencing, and so on. But it’s expensive and bulky. I can hardly bring a rack into work and play with it at lunchtime. I looked at Pure Data as a free virtual modular system, but I have an old school programming background, and text input is more natural for me. I looked at SuperCollider, and from there got to Sonic Pi, which feels more beginner friendly.

My goal is to learn Sonic Pi well enough to make what I call “finished music”. I’ve made cool sounds and beats, but nothing yet that I would wrap together and try to give a title to and play for someone else.

1 Like

Hi Matt,

And welcome to the Forums.

Funny. I said much the same a few years
back when I got here.

It took some effort, but now I’m prepared to show
my work to other people.

Enjoy the journey matey… there’s a lot to learn, but
the reward is immense.

Eli…

2 Likes

Hi and welcome. You can see Sonic-Pi as a complete bundle as well as a way to control your harware and digital synths later if you need to. You can also extend it with some SuperCollider custom synths. I think you wil love playing with it and going deeper into working with it.

1 Like

Welcome to our community. I’m really looking forward to seeing/hearing what you get up to with Sonic Pi.