Sending MIDI CC MSB-LSB message(s) to an external synth

I am a newbie to the technicalities of working with MIDI messages.

Problem:
I want to send the following message to my Moog Matriarch: “Set glide time to 15039”.

I read in my Moog Matriarch manual that to tell my synth to set a Glide Time, I have to use the MSB CC Number 5 and the LSB CC Number 37 and a value between 0 and 16383.

I have googled around a bit, and cannot find a simple and complete description on how to achieve this kind of sending MIDI message(s).
Putting together what I have found here and there, I have come to the following tentative solution:
First send a MIDI message 5 with the value 58 and then immediately after, send a MIDI message 37 with the value 191.
Or in Sonic Pi speak:
midi_cc 5, 58, port: “moog_matriarch_35”, channel: 1
midi_cc 37, 191, port: “moog_matriarch_35”, channel: 1
How I got to the numbers:
15039 converted to hexadecimal: 0x3ABF
The most significant byte (MSB) is 0x3A, which converted to decimal is 58
The least significant byte (LSB) is 0xBF, which converted to decimal is 191

As this whole story seems a bit cumbersome (the least), I am by no means convinced that I have found the correct solution. There are at least the following reasons for being a bit confused and in doubt:

• Cumbersome method
  • I thought a MIDI message value would have to be in the interval 0 to 127, and 191 falls outside that range.
  • What if Moog Matriarch only receives a CC 5 58 and not the other message (CC 37 191)? (Or the other way around)
  • Does Moog Matriarch have a timeout and forgets about one of the messages if the its “companion” is never received?
  • Does the sequence matter? (First CC 5 and then CC 37 or first CC 37 and then CC 5)

I have used Moog Matriarch in my example, but I take as granted that the problem pertains to any synth.

So please correct me, anyone.

hi @oor

i don’t know if that post can help you

I’ll have a look at it next week, thanks so far!

Hi there