Introduction - Liam C Baum

Hi All,

Very excited to be a part of this community and to have a forum where I can bounce ideas off of other SP enthusiasts.

I am a middle school music teacher who studied Jazz in college. My passion for music at a young age was started by Hip Hop music and that is somewhat central to a lot of my musical endeavors. Having studied music formally in college, I have a very good working knowledge of music theory and have found that it fits in nicely with SP. I am happy to field any theory questions people might have in regards to composing / improvising in SP.

I only have been coding for about a year now. I started with ChucK, another music based language and have done most of my work in p5.js, a javascript version of Processing. I also enjoy working with Hadware (Makey Makey, Arduino etc) to explore different possibilities of music making. I think using code for rartistic and expressive purposes is a very powerful medium. I feel it is only going to grow in popularity and I want to help share that with my students.

I am teaching SP this year to my 7th graders once a week. I feel I am approaching teaching SP somewhat differently from most as I see it used a lot as “using music to teach coding” whereas I am more “using coding to teach music” I realize that is a somewhat blurred line and am interested to discuss that more with other educators who use it.

I am also interested in using SP to explore possibilities for Hip Hop production. Most of what I’ve seen from SP seems more EDM and electronic influenced. I really enjoy working with chopping up samples and I’ve recently become more interested in Trap beats which I think has a lot to do with using SP as a vehicle for production. I do want to work more on my live coding skills, but in a way that is related to what a Hip Hop DJ does.

Looking forward to building with you all.

5 Likes