Introduction - Bob Irving

Hello all. I teach middle school computer science and have two networks in my classroom: Windows 10 and Raspberry Pi. I love the Pi and use it to teach coding with Scratch, Minecraft and Python, and also Sonic Pi.

I have 2 sides to my personality, and while they don’t actually conflict, they are pretty different. By day, I am a computer science teacher and lover of all things digital. I love the magic of code. By night, however, I am a blues guitarist who loves vintage music, instruments, tube amps, recording live to tape, and music that is the opposite of “algorave”. I love music with “soul”, “feeling”, and I love the live interplay of musicians. It’s kind of the opposite of electronic music! I’m not convinced that Pro Tools has enabled us to make “better” music, though I love its convenience.

So when I found Sonic Pi, I thought “there must be some way I can use this in my classes and also bring in my other side.” I started it last year with my 8th graders with some success. I believe that I will have more success as I learn Sonic Pi better, so I’m also now starting to dive into MIDI. Actually found a cheapo MIDI keyboard controller on Craigslist and hope to buy it today and start messing with it.

Getting better with SP will involve not just learning the code but also becoming more familiar with different forms of music. I know little about techno, house, etc. and probably need some suggestions for where to start learning! I do think that as someone who loves music, that I can learn, and that will help me teach it to my students.

I have no classical musical training, and while I can read music a little, I play guitar mainly by ear and by “feel”. I know enough to be able to transpose keys, and I know how to play 6th chords and 9th chords. But truthfully, most of what I do is by listening and then imitating. So that’s not the best foundation for SP! But I am determined to learn!