Introduction - Claire Quigley

Hi Everyone,

I’m Claire, I’m based in Glasgow, Scotland and have been a Sonic Pi fan for the past few years. I’m one of the organisers of CoderDojo Scotland, a coding club for young people, and we often use Sonic Pi at Dojos.

We’ve found it encourages new girls to have a go at coding as their familiarity with and interest in music overcomes some of the trepidation they feel about getting involved with coding, when many of them perceive the boys as being much more knowledgable than them (a belief that has a very varied amount of truth in it :wink: )

Similarly, during a series of workshops with a group of teenage boys who had been excluded from school, a couple of the boys really took to the idea of being able to make their own music with code. One in particular had really struggled to concentrate on earlier sessions with games programming, but sat for 2 sessions with fantastic concentration coding his own tunes.

I’m currently a part time lecturer at the Royal Conservatoire of Scotland, working with the first year BEd Music students (i.e. trainee school music teachers) on using Digital Making as part of their teaching. We’ve been working on Scratch this term, but I’m hoping to get them doing some Sonic Pi next term.

I recently used Sonic Pi to provide the dream soundscape for a Raspberry Jam project, also featuring a stuffed sheep (not real) and the Electric Sheep program. I’m hoping to extend it and make it a bit more interactive - at the moment the only interactive element is sound_in noises being filtered into the dream sounds with some echo on them. (Short video of it in action here: “Sheep Dreams”)

I’m really enjoying reading about everyone’s experiences with Sonic Pi - nice to “meet” you all!

Claire

6 Likes

Hi Claire
Welcome to in-thread. Great video Sheep Dreams!

Welcome Claire - as I’ve told you personally - I love all the work you do :slight_smile:

It’s a real honour to have you here in the forums.

1 Like