Hello from Salt Lake City, Utah

Over 20 years ago I got a music composition degree. Since then I’ve dabbled in music, but not seriously. When I was a student I got to play with a Steiner and I wanted to do more with electronic music but I didn’t really get much experience because the program at my University was pretty much on it’s last leg (I found out later the electronic music professor regularly came to lectures drunk). After I graduated they brought in a new instructor and he taught SuperCollider and Logic Pro. I’ve never really learned any DAWs past GarageBand. And I’ve learned a few things in SuperCollider but never really made anything worth showing, it’s mostly notes that I used to teach some music concepts to various people.

After I got my music degree I started working in IT managing Macintosh computers and I’m still doing that today. I took Java and C++ classes when I was a student and after I graduated I slowly learned more languages and I think I became fairly competent at coding, but nowhere near the level of programmers who code all day. I’ve used Perl and Python extensively. I learned Ruby over a decade ago but didn’t end up using it so I am very rusty with it. I thought Ruby was great but then I eventually found Lua and it’s still my favorite and I try to find excuses to use it, but without much success.

I found Sonic Pi this week when I was making another attempt at learning SuperCollider to the point that I can actually produce some music. Sonic Pi showed up in the play queue and it appealed to me because it’s so much easier than SuperCollider and because I also have a 7-year-old who I think would really love learning music and coding with Sonic Pi.

I do have some Raspberry Pi’s but I don’t really use them any more. They’re old and low powered. I currently have a M1 MacBook Air. I actually tried to build Sonic Pi and I got this error, I believe because it’s an M1. I’m not really interested in building it, I just wanted to try it out.