Give Me Limits (Robert Henke Talk, 2016)

Hi,

there is an interesting talk bei Robert Henke online:

He very convincingly argues that more (technical) options in fact interfere with creativity (something also Brian Eno is not getting tired to promote). Besides that he also talks about why Ableton was programmed as it was (i. e. the technician/musician’s need for a tool which better supports a specific work process).

I could not resist to see some interesting similarities to Sonic Pi and the way you begin to think about music once you work with it. In a way Sonic Pi seems to be a much more consequent approach while Ableton seems to turn - that’s what we say in German - into a “eierlegende Wollmilchsau” (something which can do everything and therefore seems to lack profile).

Disclaimer: I have no deeper experience with Ableton and so I might be wrong on that.

Interestingly Henke is quite critical about the product ‘Max to Live’ because it brings programming to music thus even multiplying the abundance of options even more. Well, I can understand, why he is saying that, but you can implement creative limitations (if you want that) on every level. Meanwhile I consider this an integral part of my quest (in this respect it can be quite liberating to lack a proper programming background).

He seems to be a very intelligent and thoughtful bloke!

1 Like

I have a lot of time for Robert Henke. I was on a panel with him a few years ago and had the pleasure of talking to him in depth about many of these things.