I am doing my thesis project on livecoding!

Hi there!
I am a student studying design and technology.
I started to use sonic pi around 3 weeks ago, I’ve always wanted to make music and this new form of technique really fascinates me, so I decided to create my thesis project around the topic algorave and livecoding!
Since I am very new to this community, I would like to hear your inputs or thoughts about a couple of questions I have.
-Why do you choose to use livecoding to create your work rather than other traditional way?
-How do you think livecoding is going to affect the music industry?
-This is still a fairly “underground” culture (correct me if i’m wrong), does anyone think one day this would challenge mainstream or does this community wants to become mainstream?
-What do you think this community need at this point? (online platform/space/more guideline…etc)

I love this platform and hopefully I could create some interesting work for this community.
Thanks for your time :slight_smile:

2 Likes

Hello Alilyen. Super interesting topic. Let us know when the thesis is done, I’d love to read it. In terms of sources, I’ve heard good things about The Oxford Handbook of Algorithmic Music. It’s a place to get started, in any case.

As for the questions, I chose to work with Sonic Pi because I enjoy exploring digital play. Sonic Pi is the most accessible of the different tools, so I ended up with that. It has also been a nice entry point to learning about music by drawing on something I already know.

I know Sam had performed in the Royal Albert Hall along an orchestra, which is something. As for how else it’s going to affect the music industry, it’s hard to tell. There are much more refined ways of producing music, so the live coding is much more likely to make an impact related to performance than production.