Windows 10: Runtime Error Thread got too far behind time

Hello there,
I am new to Sonic Pi. After a great Presentation from Sam in Eindhoven, I wanted to try for myself. So I installed Sonic Pi on my Windows 10 Machine. But unfortunately it won’t work. I keep getting Runtime Error, Thread got too far behind time. I already read somewhere that I might have something to do with power saving settings. I tried fiddling with those, but it will not solve the problems. Can anyone tell me what the magic buttons are to press, here?
Thanx,

Jelka

Hi @jelka,

it is probably helpful to see some example of code where this happens.

Just copy the code, insert three backticks, return, then the code, return and three more backticks and it’ll be nicely formated for anyone to check (see Sam’s remarks about formating if my description is not clear enough).

Martin

I’m getting the same error message. I’m a teacher and I’ve now installed Sonic-Pi on several computers in my school. While I’m in my administrator mode I am able to use Sonic-Pi (that’s how I have to install it), but when I switch to my regular account I get this exact error. Not on every computer but on some. It’s not the code. It can be as simple as “Play 70” and I get this error. I have uninstalled and re-installed the program twice. The data seems to remain. Meaning that when I re-start Sonic-Pi, the code, “Play 70” still appears. So maybe if I could clear the cache somehow, but I’m not sure how to do that. Help please!

Sorry, I won’t be able to answer this question. Seems to be some problem with access rights and/or network. I guess there must be someone around here having experience with installing Sonic Pi in a similar environement.

Thanks for the quick reply.

Hi @luxo242,

I’ve recently switched to a Windows machine for my live performances. One thing I noticed is that I got unexpected timing errors until I disabled all the energy saving optimisations in the OS. Once I did, the errors stopped.