Windows 10 Fixes For Sonic PI 2021

So,

Windows user, have not touched sonic Pi in a few months. None of my scrips run right anymore. Same PC sonic pi 3.3.1 use to run great. No issues what so ever. Now sonic pi cant even run a few threads without going out of sync.

I’ve used the repair tool, and reinstalled sonic pi.

Anyone else encounter these kinds of issues recently or know of workarounds?

The main thing I’m getting is timing error: can’t keep up.

Again it’s very strange since a few months ago everything just worked no problem.

You can even look at my profile and see I was able to run large multi buffer jams with no problems.

So I’m pretty sure it’s not my bad code.

that’s the reason ! It’s a feature :slight_smile:

More seriously, do you have changed some audio settings or devices ? Bluetooth in example ?

Cheers

Hey man. I work full time and I’m a grad student.

I use to play with sonic pi heavily in my free time. Imagine how disheartened I feel with sonic pi when I can’t get it to run things it use to run. Or anything to run anymore without it giving me some thread timing error. I was hoping someone may have already noticed or experienced these issues.

No have not have changed anything sadly.

I legit use to be able to use sonic pi no issues

It’s super odd that you’re experiencing issues - sorry about that.

If v3.3.1 Sonic Pi worked for you just fine and the same version is giving you issues now - given Sonic Pi hasn’t changed the likelihood is that something with your PC has.

Two things I’ve noticed on PCs that can interfere with the timing are:

1. Energy power settings
  2. Sound card drivers