Sonic Pi, Processing and OSC

Hello everyone! My first post here so be kind.
I’m really enjoying this piece of software, and wanted to have a go at combining it with another favorite of mine, processing. I’ve been able to send OSC messages to sonic pi from processing, but I’m having a hard time sending messages from sonic pi to processing.

I’ve tried different variations of “localhost”, my local IP and the good old 127.0.0.1 but none of them seem to do the trick.

My installation is from the official Arch repositories.

I’m really new to the whole OSC thing, so it’s most likely me messing something up, but I was wondering if someone had some simple working code examples they would be willing to share with me.
I’m approaching tearing out hair level.

Here is a project I did a couple years ago which controlled processing using OSC.

2 Likes

Thanks so much for the help!
But I’m having the same issue with your code, no signals are reaching the processing sketch, so annoying!

What platform/OS are you working on? Is your processing sketch on the same machine as Sonic Pi?
I’ll try a few experiments here, and check out if my code is still OK .

I’m on Archlinux and everything is running on the same machine. Thanks for trying!

Tried on another computer running windows, your code worked fine, so there’s something weird going on with my linux laptop, I’m no networking wizard but I’m guessing the problem may be there, have to investigate further.

I’ve experimented using the oscdump utility from the liblo package, and nothing shows up there either. Could there be something going with the Sonic-Pi that’s in the arch repositories?

What version of Sonic Pi is it?

It’s 3.1.0-7, installed from https://www.archlinux.org/packages/community/x86_64/sonic-pi/

Try running this test code. It sends data via OSC from Sonic Pi back to itself

use_osc "localhost",4559
live_loop :sendtest do
  d=[0.2,0.4].choose
  osc "/play",rrand_i(48,84),d
  sleep d
end

live_loop :receivetest do