Sonic Pi and fractals?

Hello,
I am new to the use of Sonic Pi and would be interested in knowing if it is possible to relate what I can do with Sonic Pi to any application with which to create fractal shapes and drawings. So, when making music with Sonic Pi, fractal forms could be generated.
Thank you

1 Like

What software are you using currently to draw fractals?

Hello, thank you very much for your attention. The programs I use (better said than I learn to use) are the following: Explorer FF, found here: https://www.fractfinder.es/
And the other program is, Visions of Chaos, https://softology.com.au/voc.htm

IÄ«
Traduccions

I just looked at your current softwares and I’m not really sure that it’s something you might do very easily. You maybe have to consider something that could allow you to code your fractals directly in some language, so you can import a library for MIDI or OSC communication. It would allow you to send messages from Sonic Pi to your code generating the fractal.

There may be a better way, but I think that mine would be the easiest one, but it requires some programming knowledge, which is a huge barrier of entry to just draw fractals reacting to music. Try to ask to other people, as one may have already tried this kind of works.

iI appreciate your interest and answer. I will keep asking. Thank you.

I found this question intriguing and did a bit of research on it. I agree with Bubo’c comment and think that a programmming solution perhaps using processing is the best way forward. However, I came across the virtuan ans synth which lets you produce sound output influenced by an image, and since it also allows for a midi input I hooked it up to Sonic Pi (both running on my Mac), and got it to scan a fractal image, feeding the sound output in as live_audio to Sonic Pi, and also feeding midi notes back to the ans sunt at the same time. It gave quite a pleasing outcome.
Here is the program I used in Sonic Pi.