MIDI and FL Studio help

Hello. I am new to coding and Sonic Pi. I have been using FL Studio for years. I should note that I am working on a Mac. Through the Mac MIDI set up I was able to connect Sonic Pi to FLS. However it is not behaving the way I imagined. FLS only plays whatever channel I happen to have selected no matter what MIDI channel I am telling Sonic Pi to play. I was hoping I could have Sonic Pi playing to several MIDI channels in FLS (bass, lead, drums, etc).

Is this a problem with my MIDI settings or my understanding of how MIDI works? I have attached screen shots of my FLS MIDI settings.

hi,

i don’t know FL studio but could you post your sonic pi code ?

This is all I have so far just to test it out.

live_loop :midi_piano do
midi_note_on :c3, channel: 1
sleep .2
midi_note_on :c3, channel: 1
sleep .2
midi_note_on :f3, channel: 1
sleep .2
midi_note_on :g3, channel: 1
end

If it helps here is my Sonic Pi IO settings.

Screen Shot 2020-08-21 at 4.05.40 PM

Hi @reverend-G,

welcome to our forums! Hopefully we can get you over this hurdle and up and running as soon as possible.

I’m not quite sure yet what your issue is - it could either be with Sonic Pi or FL.

One thing I do notice though is that you’re just using midi_note_on without a following midi_note_off. Your code when looped is essuentially like an infinite series of fingers pressing an infinite series of piano notes and not letting go.

The typical option here is to call midi which automatically calls midi_note_off after 1 second (which can be modified with the sustain: opt). Alternatively, you can manually call midi_note_off for very specific levels of control.

Also of note, if you don’t specify a port: to your call to midi_* then the message will be sent to all MIDI outputs, so in your case:

• iac_driver_fl_studio
  • iac_driver_sonic_pi
  • network_sonic_pi

If you just want to send to one port (such as iac_driver_fl_studio) then you need to specify that explicitly: