Hi from Toronto

Hi everyone! I’m a 24-year-old amateur music maker and a programming student returning from a years-long nadir of mental illness. I found out about Sonic Pi just over a month ago while watching a video from a developer’s conference. It was a godsend, and I feel called to make music with code, if only because music and code are what I devote most of my time to. I have been coding for Sonic Pi day and night since, have decided to contribute a small sum to begin with on Patreon because of the value it’s already delivered in my life, and have been tweeting about my developments almost daily. The Twitter community has been very welcoming and I am grateful for the kindness they’ve shown me.

My latest and greatest project is a polyphonic polyrhythmic motif-based music generator. If you’d like to take a listen, here’s a recording generated with v0.1.1, rendered with Ableton Live and BBCSO Core. I’m sleeping on ideas for v0.1.2 and beyond.

Plans: find a job after I graduate, then:

while amAlive
 code work by day;
 code music by night;
end

My music may not have much of an audience, but there must be someone who loves it as I do, and I’ll take every opportunity I happen upon to find that someone.

In terms of comments on Sonic Pi, because I work with motifs and phrases which have associated properties and functions, I suppose things could be better organised with objects.

Anyways, while I’m here, I’ll try to be of some use to others. And with that, I’ll call it a night.

Best,
Daniel

6 Likes

Greetings @d0lfyn. That’s some serious code there Daniel, and I can see how you’ve been coding day and night :smile:. Lovely results too.

I’m interested to see you’re using the Spitfire (?) BBC Symphony Orchestra. I got something from them during their marketing push some weeks ago, but not used it yet other than thinking that it sounds very well. Very nice to hear it in action.

What’s your setup, connecting Sonic Pi to trigger Ableton?

1 Like