Best practices for structuring songs in Sonic Pi?

Hi Sonic Pi community,

1. Are there any best practices to efficiently structure a song in Sonic Pi?

I worked through Sam’s tutorial and have a first understanding of the syntax, but i am wondering how a whole song would look like.

I was thinking something like:

a) First define variables /instruments
b) Then write a bunch of functions to have the building blocks.
c) Then threads and loops for the actual song?

I am not an experienced coder.

1. How would things be different between a “normal” arrangement and a live coding Performance?

Do you have to prepare code for live coding performances? Or do you really start with a blank canvas?

Thank you very much!!

2 Likes

Hi @han.siebo,

I think there is not such a thing that like this is the best way. Everyone creates their own way to make music and I think this is the richness of live coding. You dont have to be an exprienced coder, Im not either :smiley: So we can say, which method is easy for you, just use it.

To give you an idea, I can explain my method. Sometimes I make my sounds with using Sonic Pi synths but most of time I create my sounds with Ableton Live. Than I store these samples in one file and call them from Sonic Pi. I try these samples with_fx’s, if there is interesting result than I use it.

If you are interested you can check up my last concert codes and record. But I’ve to tell you I use different methods all my concerts.

Here codes:

Here record:

Hi @Berke ,

Thanks for sharing this! Looking at other people’s (your) code is super helpful. And I am starting to see differences between different musicians (how they approach things).

One more question:
For your live performance, do you code the mix in advance and then change parameters when performing live?

Dope mix btw!

Thank you

1 Like

For your live performance, do you code the mix in advance and then change parameters when performing live?