VS Code extension

There has been some discussion recently about creating a Sonic Pi extension for Visual Studio Code as an alternative Sonic Pi GUI.

As this has interested various members of the core team, some explorations have begun into this idea. A proof of concept is taking shape at https://github.com/llloret/sonic-pi-vscode-editor.

Some of the earlier discussion has occurred on Github, at the following links: first at https://github.com/samaaron/sonic-pi/issues/1902 and more recently https://github.com/samaaron/sonic-pi/issues/2371. However, in order to avoid spamming the folks in the original issues there, this thread has been created to continue these discussions in a more suitable place.

For those folks also interested in this idea, either in contributing code to or using a VS Code extension as an alternative interface to Sonic Pi, feel free to follow along with the discussion here.

8 Likes

This looks a nice project. I’ve never used the vscode package before but I decided to have a go and installed it on my Mac together with updated Node.js and npm. Took a bit of fiddling to get it going. I missed a vital step to start with installing vscode commands in the PATH. A cse of RTFM see https://code.visualstudio.com/docs/setup/mac
Another potential problem is setting this.rootPath in main.ts.
If you are using a packaged Sonic Pi then you need a path like.
"/Users/rbn/Downloads/Sonic Pi 3.2.2release.app/Contents/Resources"
I had the release version of Sonic Pi downloaded from sonic-pi.net renamed as "Sonic Pi 3.2.2release" sitting in my Downloads folder. You have to set a path that actually points inside the .app bundle.
If you were using "Sonic Pi" installed in a Mac Applications folder you would need
"/Applications/Sonic Pi.app/Contents/Resources" This is true for Sonic Pi 3.2.2 If you are using an earlier version say 3.1 the path would be