Using Orca to control Sonic Pi with OSC

I’ve been experimenting with using the live coding MID/OSC sequencer tool Orca to sequence synths and control parameters in Sonic Pi. If you haven’t seen Orca before, it’s a very neat visual programming environment for sending MIDI and OSC commands. I’m just getting started with it, but already I think it’s a really nice complement to Sonic Pi for creating and performing computer-based music.

In the first example, Orca is sequencing two Sonic Pi synths via MIDI, as well as sequencing changes to synth and fx parameters via OSC.

In the next two examples, Orca is sending MIDI to an external synthesizer, whose audio is then routed to my computer’s audio interface. In Sonic Pi, I have three recording buffers and three loopers to sample and playback the incoming audio. The recording buffers and loopers are again controlled by Orca using OSC. In these videos, the audio is then being sent to an external reverb unit.

Has anyone else tried using Orca with Sonic Pi? These are my first attempts at using OSC, so any suggestions or feedback is greatly appreciated!

EDIT: Code from first example added to github

4 Likes

Thanks for your examples, which I’ve seen on your tweets. They insipred me to get going and I have been playing with ORCA for the last few days getting to grips with it. I have worked with both midi and osc output, but noting earth shattering yet :slight_smile: As you say it sits nicely with Sonic Pi.
The only thing I haven’t sussed yet is the & command which is supposed to get midi input back into ORCA. Not sure how to get that going. Otherwise worked through youtube vids from Allieway, although some of these use an earlier version of ORCA where the inputs were on one side of the command letter, rather than on each side as now, so her examples need a bit of tweaking to get going.

EDIT As a matter of interest what external synth did you use for the second example?