Trouble adding new Synthdefs

Hello there.

I’m trying to add new synthdefs to my sonic pi environment since the built-ins aren’t suited to some of what i want to make (Industrial and EBM. They’re wonderful for dark ambient and dance-y music). I’ve found some synthdefs online which seem to adhere to the guidelines here. (or can easily be modified to fit).

They load without complaining, but when I try to play them with synth "name", note: :c1 there’s no sound. They also never stop. I managed to get sound out of this one, but it kept playing until I alt-s’d. The example synth didn’t make any sound at all.

I just cannot for the life of me make it work. I’ve even tried to super-basic example in the guidelines and I get the same result. I’m using Sonic Pi 3.1.0. on Windows 10, local install. Am i missing something obvious?

1 Like

Hi @chris.krakou,

I am not really an expert on the synth def subject but have you checked the box Allow external synth defs in the preferences (don’t know exactly the English labels because my version is in German)? Might be worth a try:

Aah yes, I should have mentioned that I’ve enabled external synths. That’s what i meant by “loads without problems”. The problem I think I’m facing is that the synth is loaded, but not playing properly.

1 Like

Hi Chris,

there are definitely a few gotchas with using your own synthdefs. SuperCollider’s notion of a ‘synth’ is extremely broad and covers any combination of it’s so-called ugens (the building blocks). This gives incredible control and flexibility but also makes it a little more difficult to share and build infrastructure around them.

Sonic Pi therefore places some constraints on external synthdefs so that they can work nicely with the environment. The following are a list of these constraints:

• They must handle all their own arguments (for example, Sonic Pi will not convert MIDI notes like :e1 to numbers in MIDI or Hz as it has no way of knowing which units your args take).