Sonic Pi x p5js

Hey all - I recently became a patreon supporter and have the goal of trying to create a cross media experience where both sound and visuals can be live coded, all while performing as an avatar. I’m trying to get p5js to talk to Sonic Pi via OSC and have tried every github repo that seems to be in existence on the topic, but am still at a loss. I’m relatively new to both js and sonic pi, but have been able to get OSC signals coming out of my ruby code and into TouchOSC - just not as far as getting it into a locally served p5js web browser instance. If anyone has any tips or tricks on how to accomplish this, they would be so, so appreciated as I’m really grasping at straws.

Thank you, and thanks for having me in this community!

2 Likes

Ha! Just this minute, I was coming back to this forum thinking about p5js! (After hearing Sam’s interview on the Elixir Newbie podcast, I’ve been thinking about other languages/environments for creative endeavours. I really like p5js and it has some useful libraries for sound and music.)

So, it sounds like you’ve identified the obstacle, which is between the two environments, not easily addressed within each.
The key might be in trying other things with OSC. Typically, there’s a bit of configuration that you need to do. Possibly converting some of the messages so that they make sense on the other side.
At the same time, there are people here who’ve played enough with OSC on the SPi side who could help you more specifically.
What are the messages you want to send, in which direction? You want p5js to trigger things in SPi or the reverse?