Live_Loop thread death with samples from directory

Hi Everyone,

I running v 3.1.0 on a Windows 8.1 machine (64 bit) and I’m new to Sonic Pi - still working through the tutorial, but trying to take what I’ve learned and apply it to ideas I’ve had for performances, recordings, etc.

One such idea involves randomly looping a number of samples in a directory filled with .wav files. I’ve had a lot of success with both loops and live_loops, but now that I am working with a large number of samples of my own creation (all recorded with a H4n mic), I keep running into errors I can’t explain.

Here is the code I am working with:

load_samples "D:/Path/to/files/"

live_loop :attempt do
  rec_idx = rrand_i(0, 37)
  puts rec_idx
  if rec_idx < 11
    sample "D:/Path/to/files/", rec_idx, start: rrand(0, 0.8), sustain: 2, amp: 2
    sleep 2
  else
    sample "D:/Path/to/files/", rec_idx, start: rrand(0, 0.8), sustain: 2, amp: 0.2
    sleep 2
  end
end

If I try to run this as a regular loop, it does what I expect it to do. But once I switch to the above code, I run into a thread death error, which I’ve pasted below. Any clue why this might happen? What’s particularly curious is that, once I receive this error, all live_loops fail for me, even live_loops as simple as “play 60, sleep 1.” To make that simple code work again, I have to clear the buffer, restart the program, and then re-enter the code.

Any idea what might cause this?

As a side note, I first ran into this problem working with a definition that set the duration of the sleep command to equal the value of the sustain opt (it also randomized things in one line, instead multiple lines). Once I started getting the error, I assumed I couldn’t use a definition with a live_loop and substituted a direct call to the path where my samples exist (this explains my use of the rec_idx definition hopefully). Only the error persists. Can anyone confirm for me whether or not I can execute definitions inside live_loops?