How to pass variable values from one block to another

Hi experts, wondering if there is a way to pass variable values from one block to another. For instance, I am trying to build a intro and a verse1. For the verse1 block, I would like it to sleep the duration of the intro block before it starts playing. The code below doesn’t work. I assume the variable introBeats I created is local only to the intro block and it wouldn’t pass the value externally. So how am I supposed to make it public (global?)
Thanks as always for your help

in_thread(name: :intro) do
  32.times do
    sample :loop_amen, onset: choose
    sleep 0.125
  end
  introBeats = beat
end

in_thread(name: :verse1) do
  sleep introBeats
  1.times do
    sample :ambi_choir
  end
end

Hey…

I’m a newbie myself, so I might have understood your question wrong… But if I didn’t, then one way to do it is to use functions…

Doesn’t directly answer the variable question, but it will let you play your “sections” one after the other, in the order you want them…
Something like this:

define :intro do
#body of your intro goes here, with how
#many times your want it to repeat
end
define :section_01 do
#body of your first section goes here
end

# And then, once your melodies are captured inside functions,
#you just call them with their names, like so:
intro
section_01 
#These will play the sections of your track in the order
#you want them to, without having to use a "jumping variable" for sleep times

You use “in_thread” when you want to play things at the same time, not one after the other…
You can combine the two approaches, of course…
For example, your intro itself might be constituted of two things that play at the same time, and then stop to go to section_01… In this case, you just put your in_thread blocks inside your first function definition, they will play together when it is called, and stop together to make way for the next section of the track…
Hope this helps!
Cheers!