Classroom studio gear?

It’s that time of the year when budgets are being made up, and we get requests for what we’d like for our classrooms. As I move more into live music coding (mixed with visuals in code), I’m wondering what would make my classroom a really awesome studio setup.

I have one midi controller, a PiSound HAT for the Raspberry Pi, a guitar with a digital amp. What else would I need? I’m looking into a good pair of 6 or 8 inch speakers. But what about maybe synths, sequencers, drum machines, samplers, etc.?

I’m new to all this so I am open to any and all ideas!

TIA,
Bob

From my experience the thing that matters most is decent headphones and a good quality speaker (with decent bass response) for sharing audio with the class.

I’ve been having a lot of fun with my workshops with a Genelec 8010 as they’re small and I can take one with me on the road. However, something bigger with a long cable that can reach to anyone’s machines would likely be better.

I think the critical thing is the bass response. More bass, more impact :slight_smile:

I would also consider getting some headphone splitters so the students can work in pairs.

For the other stuff, I think cheap MIDI controllers will be just fine - nothing fancy needed. A cheap portable small keyboard and a Novation Launchpad will get you a long way. With synths, you can easily spend incredible amounts. I’ve had a lot of fun with my Waldorf Streichfett, Korg Volca FM and Moog Subphatty. Just make sure it receives MIDI :slight_smile:

1 Like

Oh, and whilst we’re on the subject of spending budgets - if I were to make some classroom resources would that be something you’d be willing to buy? If so, what kind of thing(s) would both be most useful and most likely to get a tick from a budget spending perspective?

1 Like

Thanks for the detailed response! I agree – more bass, more impact!