Analog synths with Pi?

I’m just experimenting and wondering if someone has a reco on hooking up some sort of synth machine and using it with SP?

Not even sure if it can be done or should be done. But I’m intrigued at the possibilities. Thoughts on what gear works, how to make it work, etc.

TIA,
Bob

1 Like

Howdy,

anything that talks MIDI should be good (which is a huge proportion of synths). For Eurorack-style synths you just need to convert MIDI messages to control voltages :slight_smile:

What kind of thing were you looking to do?

2 Likes

As I’m a COMPLETE noob here, I don’t know what I’m even looking for. Is there a piece of gear you could recommend that’s affordable and usable with SP?

Thanks, Sam!

Are you looking to control Sonic Pi physically or use it to control and manipulate external devices?

I’d like to try both, I guess.

If you’re looking to try both you should be considering synths that have both MIDI in and out. My Moog Minitaur supports that but it’s pretty pricey. I also use a Waldorf Streichfett which is a lot of fun. :slight_smile:

1 Like

I recently started using Sonic Pi as a sequencer for the Perfourmer by Vermona. For my intentions, that is a great combination - but also not cheap.

I did not come across many info on the topic of controlling Sonic Pi via external (midi) gear apart from using a keyboard to play notes, would be curious if there are any tutorials or examples on that. Like, using hardware knobs on a midi controller to changevalues in Sonic Pi.

1 Like

I know very little about all of this so afraid I can’t help. I got a M-Audio Oxygen 25 keyboard controller, which has USB out into a computer, hoping I could make it work with SP.

Hi Gisbert,