Timing of different live_loops, syncing

Hi all -

MacBook Air M1 chip
Ventura 13.3
SPi 4.3.0

I am an Adv Beginner with Sonic Pi. And I’ve been working for the last five months at integrating SPi with my current workflow, including using Logic Pro. I am enamored with Live Coding. I am eager to sponsor some AlgoRave events in my area. But I recognize that my coding skills need to improve dramatically before I can realistically start something like that.

So here’s my latest challenge. I am using a live_loop to run chord changes. Using time state (set/get) to push chord changes out which can then be read by various instruments. I have live_loops for each of several instruments. They parse the current chord and play individual notes (via virtual MIDI in my DAW).

It’s the timing that is not quite right. And I feel like I need to deepen my understanding of how SPi prioritizes the various loops.

Problem: My chord changes are arriving late. When my song moves from Am to Dm, the first note of the measure is still playing :a1, from prior chord. By the second note of the measure, the chord change has been received. Everything plays fine, until the next chord change. Then again, the change is not received until the second note of the measure.

Note: to simulate the chord change, you have to go to the :chordChanger loop and change the reference to :chord1 to :chord2. Then refresh the code. This is by design. I want to control chord changes on the fly.

Can someone help me to understand the ‘why’ behind this issue? I have had similar problems crop up in different ways.

Thanks for everyone’s patience in helping me out with this. Y’all are the best!

use_bpm 120

# sequencer
live_loop :chordChanger do
  set :bassChord, get[:chord1]
  set :bass1Rhythm, get[:bassRhythm1]
  set :bass2Rhythm, get[:bassRhythm2]
  sleep 16
end

# kick
in_thread do
  sync :oneBar
  live_loop :kick do
    vel = 110
    kick vel if [1,1,0,0,1,0,0,0].tick == 1
    sleep 0.5
end end

in_thread do