Text to sound translator

I want to convert text to sound.

I took the 108 basic beeps and assigns them to the 27 words in the English Latin alphabet with intervals of 3. Starting A at 30 and therefor Z is 105. I then made functions for each of the words and now if I want to hear, for example, “Hello World” I write it up like

[h, e, l, l, o]
sleep 0.5
[w, o, r, l, d]

Is there a closer way to writing it without the [ and commas? I would like to write it closer to how we write–this message as an example. Any ideas would be very much appreciated!

1 Like
define :beepit do |s|
  play s.chars.map {|c| c.upcase.ord-"A".ord+30+12 }
end

sss = "hello there Sonic Pi"
sss.split.each { |s| beepit s; sleep 0.5 }

Anyway, you can modify as needed…

1 Like

WOW!!! This is amazing! Thanks for the help. I am new to Sonic Pi and was wondering if you could somehow walk me through it… Is :beepit a predefined function that you are calling? I am not sure of how all the code is structured. Any links to references or definitions can help me out. Thank you so much for your time and help, really appreciate it

Hi @MSJ123

:beepit is not a pre-defined function. In Sonic Pi terms,

define :beepit do
[...]
end

is what defines such a function. It takes 1 argument, which is supposed to be a string like "hello", then it chops it up into an array of characters, converts each one to a number, and passes the resulting array to the built-in function play.

On a separate line, we take a string like "hello there" and split it into words using the built-in split method, and play each one of those using the function we just defined. Note that punctuation has not been taken into account.

Not claiming this is the epitome of computer science; obviously there are more elegant ways to structure this. Sonic Pi actually runs a Ruby interpreter, if you are familiar with that.

If you have any questions, please do not hesitate to ask!

1 Like

Hi @shemp