Starting a ring from the begining

Hello everyone,

I’m a total newbie to live coding, but I have some programming background so I was able to get up and running with Sonic Pi without too much difficulty. Tremendous thanks to Sam Aaron for creating such an amazing piece of software :clap:

Now, onto the question: I have a live loop with a ring in it, and I can turn it on and off by commenting it out. However, every time I hit run, the ring starts from the point where it was last stopped. I would like it to start from the beginning so I was looking through the methods for something like “reset”. Does not seem to exist… :confused:

Here is the code:

use_bpm 120
use_synth:pretty_bell

notes = (ring :C3, :D3, :E3, :F3, :G3, :A3, :B3, :C4)
live_loop :ex do
  play notes.tick
  sleep 0.5
end

live_loop :bar do
  sample :bd_pure, amp: 2.5
  sleep 1
end

For completeness, I am commenting out the “play notes.tick” line. There must be an easy solution to this - in a performance you would want your melody to start from the beginning when you “unmute” it (not that the C major scale counts a melody but you get the idea). Sorry if this is a common question, I searched the forum but could not find an answer.

Thanks

Hello @ugokcen, and welcome! :slightly_smiling_face:

Great that you’re enjoying Sonic Pi!

In regards to your question: the function you are after (you can find details of it in the ‘Lang’ section of the help documents) is: tick_reset :slightly_smiling_face:

Thank you for the quick reply!

But stupid me cannot work this out. tick_reset does not work as a method next to the play command and if I put it on a separate line inside the live loop then all I get is the first note repeated over and over.

Maybe this is not a matter of specifying some simple option? Should I be manually keeping track of ticks, storing them in variables, incrementing them, etc.?

Hi Ugo,

Lets look at the logic of this.

If you put it inside the live_loop, then