Sonic Pi lang, Ruby and the eval

Sonic Pi is said to be a language “based on” or “derived from” Ruby. Trying to better understand how the Runtime interprets and executes the code I found that (correct me if I’m wrong) at the end of a lot of smart code there’s a call to the Kernel.eval() method.

I suppose something magic happens before or after that evaluation that makes Sonic Pi a domain specific subset of Ruby, as stated elsewhere (e.g. the thread about using classes in Sonic Pi).

I’m not an expert with Ruby so I wasn’t able to follow the whole code evaluation mechanism and how syntax constraints are set, but I’m curious to understand how it works.

1 Like

Hi, @giohappy !

I believe your assumption that Sonic Pi is merely “based on” Ruby is not correct, that is, Sonic Pi uses a genuine Ruby interpreter to evaluate your code (that is what eval does). You can, for instance, define your own modules, classes, and methods, at least last time I tried it.

That said, I cannot guarantee that you will not manage to crash the application if you do weird stuff with threads or massively hack the core Sonic Pi classes :slight_smile:

Thanks for clarifying @shemp. So I suppose the discussion in this post relates to the threading issues that my arise when using (naive) classes.
I was misleaded by reading that they might work (at the time) but they’re not guaranteed to work in future versions, etc.

What I gather from that thread is, there is no specific mention of object-oriented programming techniques, use of Ruby classes, etc. in the online Help tutorial in Sonic Pi. However, the thread does not mention any specific bugs or incompatibilities, and indeed you can run the type of code there like

MAIN = self

class BassTest
  attr_accessor :note
  attr_accessor :synth

def playit
    use_synth @synth
    play @note
  end

def initialize(note=60)
    @note = note
    @synth = :blade
  end

def method_missing(method, *args)
    if MAIN.respond_to?(method)