Son clave, silly question

Hello everyone, I’m a newbie and already here with a silly question. Trying to use spread to create a Son clave 3 2 rhythm [ https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Clave_(rhythm) ]
and as far as now I’m just able to get a tresillo ( FWIW, I discovered later that there was the example of it in the spread page!) but I cannot figure out how to make the two bars of the whole rhythm, because I’m not able to stop the first loop for 1 bar and add the second part (that would just be -if we are in a 4/4 rhythm-, one quarter pause, one quarter note, one quarter note and one quarter pause) .
I also don’t understand spread’s behaviour when it is being used with x.times do. And maybe here lies the problem… In fact if I write
live_loop :clave do

1.times do
sample :elec_wood ,rate: 2 if (spread 3, 8).tick
sleep 0.125
end
1.times do
sample :elec_wood ,rate: 1 if (spread 3, 8).tick
sleep 0.125
end
1.times do
sample :elec_wood ,rate: 1.75 if (spread 3, 8).tick
sleep 0.125
end
end

the samples are played in another order: the first, the third and the second. Why?

Thank you very much!

Hi there.
First of all your code will be easier to read in future if you paste it preceded and followed by
three reverse ticks ``` on the line before and after. This will give:

puts spread(3,8)
  1.times do
    sample :elec_wood ,rate: 2 if (spread 3, 8).tick
    puts "1st sample", look, spread(3,8).look
    sleep 0.125
  end
  1.times do
    sample :elec_wood ,rate: 1 if (spread 3, 8).tick
    puts "2nd sample", look, spread(3,8).look
    sleep 0.125
  end
  1.times do
    sample :elec_wood ,rate: 1.75 if (spread 3, 8).tick
    puts "3rd sample", look, spread(3,8).look
    sleep 0.125
  end
sleep 4
end