My first try on algorithmic composition

This is my first try on algorithmic composition. Any critics and suggestions are welcome, because this really sounds like a bad composition. Please share your opinion, techniques and theories to me. I am still learning. Thank you.

#Algorithmic Tune
#by Agustinus Cao
#randomizing notes in C Major scale, without any of the
#sharp notes, ranging from C3 to C5. Song length
#is specified by songlen variable. Each note duration
#is randomized from notesdur list. The duration of the
#last note is determined by subtracting songlen by total
#duration the notes. The composed tune is then played twice.

notes = [0, :C3, :D3, :E3, :F3, :G3, :A3, :B3, :C4, :D4, :E4, :F4, :G4, :A4, :B4, :C5]
notesdur = [0.25, 0.5, 0.75, 1, 1.25, 1.5, 1.75, 2]

songlen = 16      #Must be multiples of 4
rndnotes = []
rndnotesdur = []

use_random_seed Time.now.to_i

use_bpm rrand_i(60, 100)

ttldur = 0

#Randomize
(songlen/0.25).times do
  rndnotes.push(notes[rand_i(notes.length())])
  rndno = rand_i(notesdur.length())
  if ttldur + notesdur[rndno] < songlen
    ttldur = ttldur + notesdur[rndno]
    rndnotesdur.push(notesdur[rndno])
  else
    rndnotesdur.push(songlen-ttldur)
    break
  end
end

rndarrlen = rndnotes.length()

#Metronome sound
in_thread do
  (songlen/4*2).times do
    play_pattern_timed [:a5, 0,0,0,:e5, 0,0,0,:e5, 0,0,0,:e5,0,0,0], [0.25], release: 0.25, amp: 0.1
  end
end

#Playing the randomised composition
in_thread do
  2.times do
    n = 0
    rndarrlen.times do
      if rndnotes[n]!=0
        play rndnotes[n], release: rndnotesdur[n], volume: 0.5
      end
      sleep rndnotesdur[n]
      n = n+1
    end
  end
end

Hi @Aguscao