Limited Number of Code Editor Lines?

Forgive a total newbie, but is there a limit to the number of lines of code you can write in the code editor? I am probably doing something wrong, writing out
Play
Sleep
Play
Sleep
etc for melody, plus I have several threads/loops for accompaniment and percussion.
I am up to 377 lines and can go no further, though I have more melody to add!

Hello @Songstress!
Correct, this situation is due to a limitation in the underlying technology that Sonic Pi uses to send data between the GUI and the server behind it.
There are a few ways to work around this - The following post may shed a little more light on it:

Feel free to comment or ask questions here or there if you’d like further clarification or assistance :slight_smile: :+1:

Take a look at the play_pattern_timed function, it lets you store an entire melody in just two arrays.

yep as @Davids-Music-Lab suggests, you probably need to use a function that you still don’t know.

So if you post your code, maybe we can help you to discover some ways to achieve your goal :slight_smile: and give you some tips !
Cheers

Thank you for your responses! If I can get a bit more help…

I am exploring play_pattern_timed, which may be the way to go. Now is there a way to specify expressions for indiviual notes in the list? Here’s a chunk:
use_synth :piano
play 61.9, amp: 0.75, attack: 0.01, attack_level: 0.5, sustain: 0.75, sustain_level: 0.75, decay: 0.5, decay_level: 0.5, slide: 0.5, slide_shape: 6
sleep 0.25
play 68.9, amp: 0.75, attack: 0.01, attack_level: 0.5, sustain: 0.75, sustain_level: 0.75, decay: 0.5, decay_level: 0.5, slide: 0.5, slide_shape: 6
sleep 0.25
play 68.9, amp: 1, attack: 0.01, attack_level: 0.75, sustain: 0.75, sustain_level: 0.75, decay: 0.5, decay_level: 0.5, slide: 0.5, slide_shape: 6
sleep 0.25
play 66.9, amp: 0.75, attack: 0.01, attack_level: 0.5, sustain: 0.75, sustain_level: 0.75, decay: 0.75, decay_level: 0.5, slide: 0.5, slide_shape: 6
sleep 1.25