Jackd/ALSA (Linux) best practices for SP?

Keen on getting SP midi working with Sunvox soft synth

http://www.warmplace.ru/soft/sunvox/

but they seem to fight over ALSA on Linux. Sunvox seems to handle the whole Pulseaudio / JackD / ALSA mess relatively seamlessly, but SP less so and I typically have to run the following to get it to work -

jackd -R -d alsa -d hw:0

however this seems to reserve the sound system exclusively for SP and Sunvox will no longer start :frowning_face:

Anyone know of JackD/ALSA best practice that might allow the two to coexist ?

Hi Juzbo,

yeah, that’s quite an issue working with a more complex sound environement on Linux…

To your question: I have no experiences with Sunvox but a bit with several other softsynths (namely fluidsynth, helm and zynAddSubFX); they all work quite well with Sonci Pi. Surely they have to be set up to work with Jack (unless you don’t even have this option).

Basically once you start Jack Pulse won’t be available because Alsa/Jack have occupied you soundcard (that is why, if you want to listen to some mp3 files during such a session e. g. you will have to use a Jack-capable music player like audacious).

There is IMHO no reason why you should not be able to start Jack and work with Sonic Pi and Sunvox at the same time (as long as the later does not rely on Pulse audio). One further hint: start qjackctl and check the patchbay; maybe Sunvox is not connected to your system output…

I build myself some (very, very basic but working) start and stop scripts to use every time I am working with Sonic Pi:

jgo is my starting script as long I work with the internal sound card

pulseaudio --kill &
jackd -d alsa --device hw:0 --rate 44100 --period 1024 & # internal soundcard

jstop does stop Jack and everything which is associated with Sonic Pi:

killall -9 jackd jackdbus qjackctl sonicpi sonic-pi m2o o2m beam.smp

(As I said, this is very basic and could be done much more elegantly, but it works so far.)