Init.rb code stopping by itself + running headless

Hello,

I have a raspberry pi 4b running Sonic Pi 4.3.0.1 (32 bit). I am new to Sonic Pi.

I’ve followed the instructions from Robin’s post Sonic Pi for standalone installations - #4 by robin.newman to run Sonic Pi automatically using the first method (GUI).

I’ve put a small piece of code in the Init.rb file to test and I am able to boot and have it start automatically. However something weird happens, after 20 loops it stops and throws and error. If I stop and start again, the very same code plays indefinitely with no problem.

Also another weird thing is that the GUI only shows the code pane and nothing else (see image) so I cannot see the logs and thus, the error being thrown. The view menu shows that the logs (and others) pane are checked so they should appear but they are not. I am booting the Pi into desktop without a physical display plugged in and I VNC into the desktop to see what’s happening, is that why the GUI is weird?

Any help is appreciated.

Thanks

There are one or two problems you will encounter running Sonic Pi on a headless Pi using VNCviewer. The main one is that it will be sluggish to the point of being nearly inoperable if you have the scope function running, as it wont work properly over vnc with a headless pi.
You can turn this off with Alt+O on a PC or Command+O on a Mac depending on what you are running VNCviewer on. or from the io menu
Secondly you should configure the Pi to optimise it for VNC use. Using the Raspberry Pi configuration in the preferences set the display headless resolution to say 19280x1080
The switch to the performancfe section and reduce the GPU memory to 16 (YOU don;t need to allocate it much memory if you are not using the GPU as you are running headless.

These operations will require a reboot to initialise them.